Two gold & 1 bronze 
The Cougars duo of Janika Jordan (left) and Isaiah Germon captured three medals (two gold and 1 bronze each).


Joseph and Fox stand out at National Juvenile Champs

Submitted by Clayton Clarke,; June 6, 2017

Joseph and Fox
Darius Joseph of Eastonians (left) and Natasha Fox of Pt. Fortin New Jets (right) were the top performers. Each won three gold medals and one silver medal.

(Photos courtesy CLAYTON CLARKE)


Trinidad & Tobago Secondary Schools'

Track & Field Association

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad: (Tues, June 6) Darius Joseph (Eastonians) and Natasha Fox (Pt. Fortin New Jets) were the stand-out performers at the 2017 NGC/NAAATT National Juvenile Track and Field Championships  at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Saturday June 3 and Sunday June 4. Both won three gold and one silver medals each. Joseph copped the boys under 14 80m hurdles, 300m hurdles and 100m titles and was second in the shot put. The lanky sprinter dominated the hurdles races setting new championship records in the heats and finals and also improving on the silver medals he won in 2016. In the 80m hurdles on Saturday he clocked 12.92 to top the heats, breaking the 12.99 record set by Brian Morris in 2016. He was even faster in the finals, stopping the clock at 12.74. In the 300m hurdles prelims he crossed the line in 44.74, erasing Morris' 45.31 from the record and was quicker in the finals taking the gold in 43.90. His performance in the heats was impressive as the race was run using eight flights of hurdles instead of seven. Officials ensured the correct number of hurdles were in place for the finals. He ended the first day with two golds medals as he took the 100m crown in 12.2. In the shot put on day two secured silver with a distance of 10.67 and missed more medals as he was fourth in the 200m and long jump and seventh in the javelin.

Fox secured the girls under 14 300m hurdles (47.24), the 200m (26.14) and 400m (1:00.55) and came close to a fourth gold in the 60m hurdles taking silver (10.68).  In the 60m hurdles the winner, Kayla Caesar (Memphis Pioneers), moved while in the starting blocks yet the officials did not charge her with a false start. Caesar, seemingly recognising her error, was slow out of the blocks but finished strongly to take the gold. Fox retained the 400m crown and improved on her 4th place finish in the 60m hurdles in 2016. She also won the 800m finals one year ago and was third in the 200m. Isaiah Gemon and Janika Jordan led the way for the champion club Cougars taking two gold and one bronze medal each. Germon retained the boys under 14 shot put title with a throw of 11.49. He also took the discus (22.93) to improve on the bronze he copped in 2016 and also finished third in the javelin (27.17).  Jordan ran away with the girls under 12 80m (10.63) and 150m (19.96) in championship record times and took bronze in the 400m (1:07.71). 

Joshua Mascall (Fyzabad AS-B U14 800m/long jump), Jenna Marie Thomas (IG Fastlane- GU10 60m/80m), Kyle Williams (Burnley-B u12 60m/400m) were double champions while Clinton Lewis (Cougars-B U 10 ball throw), Ben Bannister (Mason Hall PY-B U12 800m) and Giana Paul (D'Abadie Progressive-G U12 high jump) retained their titles. Kaii Williams won the boys under 10 60m dash narrowly ahead of his Tobago Jaugars-club-mate Nathaniel Charles, 8.67 to 8.68. In the 80m Charles turned the tables on Williams as both crossed the line in 11.33 with Charles getting the nod.  Janae Murray (Memphis Pioneers-G U14 gold-long jump, silver-high jump), Octavia Cambridge (Cougars-G U14 gold 1000m, silver-800m) and Cyril Sumner (Memphis Pioneers-B U14 gold-400m, silver-800m) missed out on double gold. Paul (G U12 gold-HJ, silver-400m, bronze-long jump) and Janae De Gannes (Zenith-gold-LJ, silver-ball throw, bronze-80m)  ended the meet with three medals.  Christiemarie Maharaj (Silver Bullets), Jenique Mc Laren (Toco TAFAC), Antwon Fredeick (Cougars), Sierra Joseph (Simplex), Andre Joseph (Unattached), Makaelan Woold (Cougars), Atiya Croal (Memphis Pioneers) and Kevah Scott (Zenith) all won two medals.  

Complete results here

Compiled results here

Double winners
Double winners from left: Joshua Mascall (Fyzabad AS), Kyle Williams (Burnley) and Jenna Marie Thomas (IG Fastlane).