SSTF only

Secondary Schools' Track & Field 


The TTSSTFA has partnered with nine past student athletes who have gone on to represent Trinidad and Tobago with distinction to brand our newly aligned regional championships. They were all contacted and their permission secured to use their names in the venture. All or in one case his family expressed honour to be asked. This branding seeks to inspire our student athletes to emulate these national heroes. They are as follow: 

Championship name

Keshorn Walcott

Deon Lendore

Michelle-Lee Ahye 

Walcott/Lendore/Ahye Regional Championships

Jereem Richards

Machel Cedenio

Cleopatra Borel

Richards/Cedenio/Borel Regional Championships

Akeem Stewart

Renny Quow

Kelly-Ann Baptiste

Stewart/Quow/Baptiste Regional Championships


The Championships officially began in the 1970's as a successor to the National College Athletics involving mainly government assisted public schools. This annual event conducted under the aegis of the Ministry of Education during the January to April term, marked the culmination of its Track and Field programme of competition. The Championships were held at different venues over the years - viz the Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain; Skinner's Park, San Fernando, the Arima Velodrome, Palo Seco Velodrome. However, since the opening of the Hasely Crawford Stadium, the games have been held annually at this venue. On January 28, 1998 a committee representing the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Sport, National Amateur Athletic Association, Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee and the main sponsor NEMWIL, launched the NEMWIL Schools Athletic Festival. The Festival comprised four events, namely: a 5k Road Race, Juvenile Super Athlete Games, the Schools Relays and a Track and Field Competition. The activities were held in June of that year following the Secondary Schools National Track and Field Championships. In 2004 the Athletic Festival was reviewed and restructured to cater only for secondary school students. It became the Secondary Schools National Athletic Festival.​​


SSTF provides opportunities for track and field development of secondary schools students so that they will achieve their full potential.” This is achieved through:

  • Effective organization of track and field events;

  • Developing meaningful relationships with stakeholders;

  • Providing opportunities for the development of athletic potential;

  • The development of officiating and coaching capacity. 

SSTF sets its objectives as follows:

  • To source adequate sponsorship for all its events and activities.

  • To attain increased participation by schools.

  • To attract increased spectatorship.

  • To provide opportunities for the development of students’ athletic potential and development.

  • To develop and enhance more meaningful relationships with stakeholders.

  • To develop a cadre of personnel to carry out administrative and official duties.

  • To facilitate training of teachers and other school personnel in coaching.

  • To acquire the necessary equipment to host events.

  • To acquire a physical space from which to operate.

Rebranding: “Stepping Into a Golden Future”


The Trinidad and Tobago Secondary Schools Track and Field Association (TTSSTFA) has been rebranded to Secondary Schools Track and Field (SSTF) at our Season Launch on Tuesday August 30th at the Central Bank Auditorium.

View photos from the event here

A logo design competition was held in June 2022 and the winner was revealed at our rebranding event. Anderson Burris, of Mason Hall Secondary, Tobago was the winner, and here is our new design:


To be the leading Schools’ National Sporting Organisation in Trinidad and Tobago

Regional Officers

North Region

  1. Chairman: Dern Rodriguez, Holy Cross College
  2. Vice Chairman: Sylvester Sandiford, Five Rivers Secondary 
  3. Secretary: Anita Fraser, Mount Hope Secondary
  4. Asst. Secretary: Malcolm Ramlogan, SWAHA Hindu College
  5. Treasurer: Lesley Ann LaRode, Malabar Secondary
  6. Floor Member: Ouida McMillan, Barataria South Secondary
  7. Floor Member: Johan Redhead, Barataria North Secondary
  8. Floor Member: Krystal Francis Joseph, Toco Secondary

South/Central Region

  1. Chairman: Aravind Ramgoolam, San Fernando East Secondary
  2. Vice Chairman: Martin Edmund, San Fernando Central Secondary
  3. Secretary: Marsha Bedasie, San Fernando East Secondary
  4. Asst. Secretary: Jillian Huggins, Pleasantville Secondary
  5. Treasurer: Cherelle Flores, Tableland Secondary
  6. Floor Member: Susan Pierre, Rio Claro West Secondary
  7. Floor Member: Reginald Dinnoo, Iere High
  8. Floor Member: Abiola Haneiph Branche, Naparima Girls High

Tobago Region

  1. Chairman: Cindy Ramnarine, Bishops High
  2. Vice Chairman: Jeromie Morgan, Mason Hall Secondary
  3. Secretary: Jerron Smith, Speyside High
  4. Asst. Secretary To be filled
  5. Treasurer: Carissa Jacob, Roxborough Secondary
  6. Floor Member: Marvin James, Pentcostal Light & Life Found.
  7. Floor Member To be filled
  8. Floor Member To be filled


The TTSSTFA was conceived in 2004 as a body to run the Secondary Schools National Track and Field Championships. The body began its existence with the first President, Mrs. Jenny Lynne Cyrille, who was elected in 2004. The Constitution was also adopted in that year. The TTSSTFA is guided by two (2) major instruments:

1. The Constitution (Revised, December 2020)

2. The Schools National Sporting Organizations (SNSO) Guidelines (2015)

The TTSSTFA operates under the aegis of the Ministry of Education, Curriculum Division​​​​

National Executive


Joseph BrewsterSangre Grande Secondary
1st Vice President

Andy Joseph

Moruga Secondary
2nd Vice PresidentDale Peters
Speyside High School
SecretaryAllan Neptune
Sangre Grande Secondary
Assistant Secretary    Vanessa OttleySt Joseph's Convent, San Fernando
TreasurerArnold RampersadGasparillo Secondary

Natasha Leotaud

Robert Warner

Zico Kennedy

Holy Faith Convent, Penal

Princes Town West Secondary

East Mucurapo Secondary