Trinidad & Tobago Secondary Schools'

Track & Field Association

Shooters take aim 
Shooter takes aim in Stage Four of the first day of the Tobago Rifle ClubNationals in John Dial on October 29. 

Lady Shoots 
Shooter in action in Stage One of the Standard Division  on the first day of the Tobago Rifle Club Nationals in John Dial on October 29. 

Shooter at Stage Four 
A shooter competes in Stage Four of the Production Division first day of the Tobago Rifle ClubNationals in John Dial on October 29.

Shooters await start of Precision Masters
Shooters await the start of another round of action in the Precision Masters Class on the second day of the Tobago Rifle Club Nationals at John Dial on October 30.  

Darren Jagpersad will be out to defend his title at the 20th edition of the TTDF/TRA Handgun Shooting Championships (Top Gun) which will shoot off at the Tucker Valley Range, Chaguaramas on Saturday, December, 3 from 9:00am. Jagpersad took last year's crown at the Jethro John Shooting Range in Gran Couva with score of 184.79 to finish ahead of Ken Williams (190.21) and Andre Lashley (191.93). He also copped the High Civilian and Most Accurate Shooter awards. This year Jagpersad will be going for third overall Top Gun trophy after first tasting success in 2010. He will have to beat twenty-four (24) other shooters for the top prize.

Former champions Anthony Bailey (2014) and Devanand Bhagwansingh (2003) are among the list of contenders looking to take the title away from Jagpersad.  Last year's runners up Williams and fourth placed Marlon Moses will also vying for gold. In all seven of the top ten finishers from 2015 are listed to be back in action all aiming for the top spot. Winner of last weekend's national Centre Fire and Standard Pistol titles, Olympic shooter Roger Daniel may also be among the starters. However, his participation is not yet confirmed.  Runners-up behind Daniel, Kelston Anderson (Standard Pistol) and Nigel Marchand (Center Five) will be hoping to to improve to the top of the podium on Saturday. Tobagonians Brian Armstrong and Walt Reid are also in the field.

 The competitors will be representing the Trinidad Rifle Association, Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force (TTDF), Trinidad and Tobago Police Force (TTDF), South Trinidad Rifle Club (STRA), Tobago Rifle Club (TRC) an International Defensive Pistol Association of Trinidad (IDPA Trinidad).

The top shooters were selected from a total of six competitions held by clubs and associations during a ten month period. Points are awarded to each competitor and ranked to select the top 25 competitors with five reserves.  The marksmen will battle over ten stages.  Prizes will awarded of top ten places overall and the top three of each stage. Special prizes will also be presented for the winner of Senior Category (50 years and over), Military (TTDF), Law Enforcement (Police and  Customs & Excise), Security Officer and Most Accurate Shooter. 

The Top Gun competition is be staged by the TTDF and the TRA and was first held in 1996. Initially the top five shooters from each shooting club/association were selected. However, the tournament has developed into a highly competitive and dynamic shooting competition which tests the shooter’s knowledge, skills and abilities in the sport of practical shooting.  This year the event is being held using the rules of the IPSC (International Practical Shooting Confederation). The TRA has been fully supportive of the Top Gun initiative throughout the years and this year the ten competition stages were developed and built by the TRA with the assistance of the TTDF & TTPS personnel. All props and targets are sponsored by the TRA. The certified range officers, stats officers and arbitration committee are members of the TRA.

List of competitors

  • Anthony Bailey (winner-2014), (6th-2015),
  • Mohammed Ali (8th-2015) ,
  • Gerard Persad (10th-2015),
  • Marlon Moses (4th-2015) ,
  • Ken Williams (2nd-2015) ,
  • Peter Fredericks,
  • Darren Jagpersad (winner-2010, 2015),
  • Ramnarine Ramadhin (19th-2015),
  • Avesh Phagoo (20th-2015)
  • Nigel Marchand (16th-2015) ,
  • Jude Gordon (24th-2015),
  • Aneel Ramjit,
  • Dave Ramlal (18th-2015),
  • Brian Armstrong (12th-2015),
  • Dale Singh (15th-2015),
  • Walt Reid (17th-2015),
  • Kelston Anderson,
  • Christopher John,
  • Nicholas Li,
  • Amarnath Bridgelal,
  • Richard Hopkinson,
  • Devanand Bhagwahnsingh (winner-2003), (7th-2015),
  • Kelvin Sebastien (13th-2015),
  • Tarike Phillip (23rd-2015),
  • Roger Umaid (25th-2015)


  • Sherwin Assing,
  • Jason Mills,
  • Henderickson Herbert,
  • Kenrick Mohammed,
  • Shawn Mohammed

2015 results
1st Darren Jagpersad (184.79,

2nd Ken Williams 190.21,

3rd Andre Lashley (191.93),

4th Marlon Moses (199.68),

5th Jethro John (201.17),

6th Anthony Bailey (202.29),

7th Devanand Bhagwansingh (204.94)

8th Mohammed Ali (210.78),

9th Stephen Plaza (212.89).

10th Gerard Persad (216.39),

11th Gifford Wright (219.46),

12th Brian Armstrong (221.02),

13th Kelvin Sabastien (228.89),

14th Christopher John (232.37),

15th Dale Singh (234.54),

16th Nigel Marchand (239.72),

17th Walt Reid (240.38), 

18th Dave Ramlal (240.38),

19th Ramadin Ramnarine (244.59)

20th Avesh Phagoo (252.71),

21st Tarike Phillips (254.59),

22nd Hendrickson Herbert (257.13),

23rd Peter Fredericks (257.66),

24th Jude Gordon (263.31),

25th Roger Umaid (286.15) 


Targets used in Stage Five of the first day of the Tobago Rifle ClubNationals in John Dial on October 29.


(Photos courtesy: SPORTSCORE TOBAGO)

All photos taken at the Tobago Rifle Club Nationals in John Dial on October 29. 

Jagpersad aiming for third Top Gun title on Saturday

by Clayton Clarke (​​; 29.11.16