Trinidad & Tobago Secondary Schools'

Track & Field Association

Indra Ramsingh-Geoffrey, PRO, TTSSTFA 

Clayton Clarke, Media Liaison, TTSSTFA. Sportscore Tobago

TTSSTFA congratulates TTOC and NAAA Awardees 

Jan 12th, 2017


The Trinidad and Tobago Secondary Schools Track and Field Association (TTSSTFA) extends congratulations to the athletes who won awards at the annual awards ceremonies of Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) and the National Association of Athletic Administrations (NAAA).

Special congratulations to Keshorn Walcott and Michelle-Lee Ahye who were named the top Male and Female Athletes of the Year by both the TTOC and NAAA. Walcott was T&T's lone medal at the Rio Olympics, a bronze in the men's javelin; while Ahye was sixth in the women's 100m and 200m finals and was part of the 4x100m relay team which finished fifth. Walcott attended Toco Secondary and competed in the 2009, 2010 and 2011 Secondary Schools Track and Field Championships while Ahye was a student of Tranquility Government and ran in the 2006-2010 Secondary Schools Championships.

The following NAAA award winners are products of our Secondary Schools Track and Field Championships:

  • Top Male Track Athlete: Machel Cedenio (Southern Academy/Presentation College-San Fernando;
  • Top Male Junior/Under 20 Track-Akanni Hislop (Bishops High);
  • Top Female U20 Field-Chelsea James (Signal Hill Secondary);
  • Top Male Under 20 Field- Che Richards (St. Mary’s College);
  • Top Male Youth/Under 18 Field-Tyriq Horsford (Signal Hill Secondary);
  • Top Female Youth/Under 18 Track-Jenea Spinks (Holy Name Convent-POS;
  • Top Male Under 18 Track-Onal Mitchell (Point Fortin West Secondary East Secondary);
  • Top Female Under 18 Field-Ianna Roach (Bishops Anstey);
  • Top Female Under 16 Track-Rae- Ann Serville (St. Joseph Convent-POS);
  • Top Male Under 16 Track-Avindale Smith (Queen’s Royal College);
  • Top Female Under 16 Field-Safiya John (Scarborough Secondary); 
  • Top Male Under 14-Shakeem McKay (Queen’s Royal College).
  • Top Male Under 16 Field-Christopher Crawford (Pentecostal Light and Life);
  • Top Female Under 14-Shaniqua Bascombe (St. James Secondary)
  • Destiny Williams (Mucurapo East Secondary).

Shaniqua Bascombe & Destiny Williams are both first year secondary school students. McKay was Victor Ludorium at this year’s Championships following his quadruple gold medal haul. Hislop, Horsford and John were also champions in 2016 while James and Smith were former champions.

The TTSSTFA would like to thank the winners and all other student/athletes for their participation in their various school meets, zonal and national championships. Further kudos to those who went to represent the country at the Carifta Games and World U20 Championships and the Penn Relays. The TTSSTFA takes this opportunity to wish all students/athletes, teachers, coaches and officials all the best of luck in 2017.

The TTSSTFA acknowledges the support received in 2016 from the students, athletes, teachers, principals, schools and volunteers, sponsors-SM Jaleel, the official water and beverage supplier for the National Championships and Blue Waters and partners- Ministry of Education, NAAA, Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs and the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago. Beginning in 2017 Digicel Sportsmax has signed on as the broadcast rights partners for the National Championships (2017-2021)

For more information, like us on facebook: Ttsstfa & Ttsstfa Secondary Schools.